National Student Exchange


NSE provides opportunities for WSU Pullman undergraduates to study for up to one calendar year at another NSE member school, and accepts students from NSE Member Institutions to study away in Pullman. There are nearly 200 different NSE colleges and universities to choose from in 48 states, 7 Canadian provinces, Puerto Rico, the US Virgin Islands, and Guam.

The National Student Exchange (NSE) consortium of four-year colleges and universities founded in 1968 is committed to providing educational opportunities to its students while supplementing academic resources of its members.

NSE participants have found their exchanges culturally enriching, academically rewarding, and one of the most significant experiences of their undergraduate education. Since its founding in 1968, more than 100,000 students have had the opportunity to experience life from a different point of view with NSE.

With a membership of nearly 200 institutions, NSE has served over 90,000 students during its 40 years of operation. It is your turn to experience life from a different point of view! Where do you want to study next year? Choose your destination from 49 states, Guam, Puerto Rico, or the Virgin Islands. This is your opportunity to learn more about yourself as you experience the cultural mosaic of the United States.

Recommended for Students Who:

  • Students who are the first in their family to attend college
  • Students in undocumented status or who qualify as DACA
  • Students interested in working or internships outside of WSU Pullman
  • Students with financial limitations who rely on state aid for tuition, fees, and cost of living